Kensington

Hey,

So it’s no secret that this move has been hard on me, and that I’m not really a city person. But today I went down to Kensington Market by myself and found a little community within Toronto that made me feel more at home than I have since I left Victoria. I don’t really have much to say about it, other than I think it was lucky of me to go on a Pedestrian Sunday, when the streets are all blocked off from traffic so you can just wander the streets freely. There were street performers on every corner, and I went on a mission to seek out a small coffee shop called Ideal Coffee. I started a new book there, called My Heart Is Not My Own, which everyone should read. I’m only about nine chapters in, but I’ve been brought through many emotions in just those 60 pages that I feel comfortable enough in that endorsement. Anyways, I had two cups of fantastic coffee; thankfully I now have a bean to replace my Trekkie bean from Serious Coffee back home, since there’s none of those here. It’s a great dark coffee called Princess of Darkness, which is just awesome.

IMG_2983

The front patio of Ideal Coffee

While I was reading, people started to assemble on the street out front, and bring out some beautiful drums and gourds wrapped in beads. The people were a part of the Afro-Caribbean percussion group Maracatu Mar Aberto. Along with the brilliance of Kensington as a whole, I followed this group in a makeshift parade of dancers and admirers for an hour through the streets of the market. It was remarkable, enchanting, and the happiest I’ve felt in a while.

IMG_2986 IMG_2987 IMG_2988 IMG_2990 IMG_2991

I have a pretty cool, though short, video of them as well, but I don’t think I can upload videos on here. Oh well, they were fantastic. I spilled coffee all over myself as I was dancing through the streets with people I didn’t know, I signed a petition to stop a big box store being built on the border of the Kensington area and to support family businesses, poked around little stores, and browsed all the artists’ stalls as I wandered. It was breathtaking, and I loved every minute of it. As I meandered after the dancing phenomenon that was Mar Aberto, I came across some fantastic installments of street performance and genuine community happiness. The pictures are better than what I can explain. Actually, the photos aren’t very good at all, but I grabbed a few quick snaps on my phone as I was taking everything in, so you’ll just have to use your imagination to try to understand how brilliant it was.

A band that set up less than ten minutes after the Mar Aberto passed by

A band that set up less than ten minutes after the Mar Aberto passed by

Less than a block up from the first street band, another had set up on the roof of a building

Less than a block up from the first street band, another had set up on the roof of a building

Impromptu tango

Impromptu tango

At the end of my Kensington stroll, another band playing I Put A Spell On You

At the end of my Kensington stroll, another band playing I Put A Spell On You.

I had a wonderful day today, but I know how much fun I would have had with someone else who would have also loved it. I miss you Lauren.

Til next time,

Sara x

Leave a comment